Club History

In 1975, after renewing his membership in the American Philatelic Society, Mr. Walter Loebl; a well known Roanoke businessman, noted that there were a number of APS members listed from the Roanoke Valley.  He contacted those that he could by mail or phone and received sufficient response that a group met in the conference room of the Times-World building of the original Big Lick Post Office, the group decided on the Big Lick Stamp Club of the Roanoke Valley as its official name.  In 1977 the club became affiliated with the Virginia Philatelic Federation and played an active part in that organization until it was dissolved.


In 1978, the club applied for membership in the American Philatelic Society and was granted a charter to become Chapter Number 1025.  On December 11, 1983 the Big Lick Stamp Club adopted its constitution and on January 1, 1984 the club bylaws were adopted.

The Big Lick Stamp Club was not the first stamp club in the Roanoke Valley.  The first organized stamp club in the Roanoke Valley was the Lee-Jackson Stamp Club organized in 1934 and was disbanded in 1943.

The next stamp club to be formed was The Roanoke Stamp and Coin Club, which was organized, in late 1946 or early 1947.  The club met twice a month on the first Tuesday and third Friday and tried to alternate programs.  First, one program on stamps and then one on coins.  The club was affiliated with the American Philatelic Society and produced a monthly newsletter called “The Stam-A-Con.”  The Roanoke Stamp And Coin Club was disbanded in 1965 when some of the most active members had passed away or had moved out of town to other jobs.

2010 - present
2010 - present